North of Hafnarfjordur, and just across the Skerjafjordur Fjord, is a modest group of white, red-roofed buildings that many are surprised to find are actually Bessastadir, the official residence of the President of Iceland.
Bessastadir has been the presidential residence since 1941, but the site has a much older history, having been mentioned in the Islendinga Saga (Saga of the Icelanders) when the great writer Snorri Sturluson had his farm here in the 13th century. The main building at Bessastadir was built in 1761 and the church, which still stands, was consecrated in 1796. Today visitors are permitted to go inside the church which has a triptych altarpiece painted by the Icelandic artists Muggur in 1921.
Bessastaðir was built in 1761-1766 and housed a school until 1867. Grímur Thomsen, a poet and statesman purchased it and lived there with his family for almost 2 decades. It was in 1940 that the land was bought by Sigurður Jónasson and donated to the state, for the future residence of the Icelandic presidents.
It is assumed that Bessastaðir has been a site of a church since the year 1000. It took about 20 years to finish the construction of the present church. The church of Bessastaðir is among the oldest buildings made of cemented stone in Iceland. It was decorated with its stained windows in 1956 to commemorate the 60th birthday of Ásgeir Ásgeirsson, the second president of the country.