Settlement Center of Iceland

This remarkable multimedia exhibition in Borgarnes uses the Sagas to explore the history of Iceland’s early settlement by Nordic Vikings. Half of the centre is dedicated to the story of Egill Skalla-Grímsson, a colourful figure from one of the best-loved Icelandic Sagas, Egill’s Saga.

Visitors are lead on a voyage of discovery through storyboards, sculptures, sound and lighting as well as theatre and live performances. Audio guides are available in Icelandic, English, German, French, Norwegian, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Japanese, Finish, Swedish and Polish.

The centre is made up of three buildings: The Warehouse, The Merchant’s House and The Reception Hall.

The Warehouse was built in the late 19th century and served as storage space for the adjacent trading store known as Búðarklettur. The old warehouse came into the ownership of the local authorities in 1971.

The Merchants house is the oldest house in Borgarnes. It was erected in 1877–78 by the original storekeeper; a man known as Akra-Jon. Later the store was taken over by his Norwegian creditor Johann Lange and in 1886 a young Danish shopkeeper, Thor Jensen, became Lange’s agent and took over the responsibility of running the company.

Between the two existing buildings a third structure has been constructed. This connecting annex functions as a reception hall, houses ticket sales and provides access to the other buildings. It also serves as a souvenir shop.