The people of Reykjanes have depended on the bounty of the sea for centuries.  Therefore, it is no wonder that the local community cherishes and carefully maintains eleven lighthouses dotting the rugged coastline.

With today’s modern electronic navigational systems, beacons no longer play the vital role they once did in guiding fishing vessels and warning of dangerous shoals. However, these distinctive structures still carry the romance and drama of the pasts. Each lighthouse along the Reykjanes Peninsula has its own history and story.  Additionally, a few allow visitors to climb to their perches and enjoy spectacular views of the North Atlantic Ocean.

Iceland’s oldest lighthouse  (Reykjanes) dates back to 1878 and was located at Valahnukur until earthquakes and erosion threatened to wash it away to sea. In 1908, Icelanders completely replaced the it,  and to this day it is the undeniable local favorite.

In addition, Iceland’s tallest beacon is 26 meters (85 feet) in height and is located at Gardskagi Point, which provides visitors with a picturesque view of two lighthouses.

Many Lighthouses on One Peninsula

Here is a list of lighthouses located on Reykjanes Peninsula:

  • Reykjanes
  • Reykjanes auxiliary
  • Gardskagi
  • Selovogur
  • Stafnes
  • Sandgerdi
  • Holmsbergs
  • Vatnsnes
  • Gerdistangi
  • Hopsnes
  • Krysuvik