Built in 1939, Skriduklaustur is the most recognized and most famous building in the Eastfjords. In addition, this museum is the former home of the beloved Icelandic author, Gunnar Gunnarsson.

Gunnar Gunnarsson, one of Iceland’s most famous authors, built this beautiful stone building in the area where he grew up. A German architect named Fritz Höger designed the house;  it’s 315 square meters and has an attic and two floors.

When Gunnar and his wife moved to Reykjavik nine years later,  they gave Skriduklaustur to the Icelandic nation. The building is now a center of culture and history and home to Gunnarsstofnun, or the Institute of Gunnar Gunnarsson, and displays objects connected to his work and life.

In 1997, the Gunnar Gunnarsson Institute was established by law. In addition,  the Ministry of Education assumed responsibility of Skriduklaustur in 1999. Skriduklaustur is now an educational institute and museum dedicated to the life and work of the author.

From a monastery to a museum and visitor center

During the middle ages the area was a monastery (“klaustur” is the Icelandic word for monastery). In recent years, there has been an archaeological excavation that has shown that the monastery served also as a local hospital. Today Skriduklaustur serves as a museum for Gunnar and as a writers retreat. It also houses one of the visitors centers for Vatnajokull National Park.

Skriduklaustur opening hours

Open daily 11 – 17 (11:00am – 5:00pm)

Where is Skriduklaustur?

Skriðuklaustur is 40 km from Egilsstadir town, in the upper end of Lagarfljot lake.

GPS: 65.041417 N, -14.953272 W